1. Home
  2. News
  3. Henrik Haapala signs contract extension with Ilves

Henrik Haapala signs contract extension with Ilves

Ilves Hockey Oy

Ilves and forward Henrik Haapala have agreed on a one-year contract extension.

Forward Henrik Haapala, 28, recorded 6 points (3 goals, 3 assists) in 9 regular season games and 9 points in 11 playoff games last season after joining Ilves in the beginning of March. In the playoffs he was the joint-top scorer of the bronze-medal winning Ilves team with captain Eemeli Suomi.

In total Haapala has scored 130 points (40 goals, 90 assists) in 206 regular season games and 47 points (16 goals, 31 assists) in 94 playoff games during his eight seasons in the Finnish top league (Liiga). The forward has also played abroad in the NHL, KHL, Swiss top league NLA and KHL. Haapala has recorded 5 points (2 goals, 3 assists) in his 8 games played in the Finnish men’s national team. Earlier in his career he won two championships and four silver medals in the Finnish league and gold at the IIHF U20 Ice Hockey World Championship.

Ater carrying the jersey number 52 last season, Haapala has decided to make the switch to number 25.

– Henrik Haapala has exceptional abilities to effect the game and is at his best in high-stake games and in the key moments of the game. Henkka is a very bright and energetic person who brings passion and culture of winning and standards to our team and locker room every day, says Ilves sports director Timo Koskela.

– We are really happy about the contract extension and believe it suits all sides well – the team and the player but also the league. We are going to see an extremely motivated team player in the Liiga rinks. He has huge desire to show his talent every game and prove he is one of the best players in the league.

Contract situation for the 2022–2023 season

Goaltenders (2)

Marek Langhamer 2023, Jakub Málek 2024+1

Defensemen (12)

Karri Aho 2023+1, Santeri Airola 2023+1, Kevin Czuczman 2023, Otto Heinonen 2024, Veeti Hietaniemi 2024+1, Jyrki Jokipakka 2023, Les Lancaster 2023, Otto Latvala 2024+1, Leo Lööf 2023, Dominik Mašín 2023, Jarkko Parikka 2025, Tuomas Salmela 2024

Forwards (21)

Samu Bau 2024+1, Henrik Haapala 2023, Nikolai Hakala 2023+1, Joona Ikonen 2024, Emil Järventie 2024+1, Petri Kontiola 2023, Joona Korhonen 2023+1, Jakub Kos 2023+1, Panu Mieho 2024, Matias Mäntykivi 2024, Miro Nalli 2024, Jani Nyman 2023+1, Joonas Oden 2024, Eetu Päkkilä 2024, Miro Ruokonen 2024+1, Aku Räty 2024, Balázs Sebők 2023, Eemeli Suomi 2023, Tommi Tikka 2023+1, Eetu Tuulola 2023, Santeri Virtanen 2023